Campello sul Clitunno (PG) is a small, medieval borgo nestled amidst the olive groves that carpet the hills of the Clitunno valley between Foligno and Spoleto. Inhabited first by the Etruscans and later by the Romans, after the fall of the Roman Empire the borgo’s fate was linked for the most part to that of nearby Spoleto. Although it succeeded in establishing itself as an independent commune in the 1300s, the Church and the Duchy of Spoleto soon reinstated their rule. Even after the Unification of Italy, the area was included in the territory of Spoleto until 1930, when Campello sul Clitunno finally achieved the status of an independent municipality.
The municipality has two centres: Campello Alto, a fortified hamlet which developed around the Castle, built in the 10th-11th century by Rovero di Champeaux, a baron of Burgundy; and Campello Basso which features the 16th century Church of Madonna della Bianca with an elegant stone portal and two frescoes by Spagna. The Castle of Campello Alto retains its walls and a single gate providing access to the village which features the Church of San Donato with a valuable Baroque wooden altar, the Palazzo Comunale and, nearby, the Barnabite monastery complex which conserves a Madonna by Spagna and a 15th century fresco of the Crucifixion and Saints in the style of Giotto.
The true pearl of this area is the Clitunno Springs, a series of springs in the midst of utterly enchanting surroundings. Celebrated since Roman times, the Springs form a small lake which is the source of the tiny Clitunno river. Close by is the 5th century Clitunno Temple which is inscribed as UNESCO World Heritage List as part of the serial property “The Longobards in Italy: Places of Power (568-774 C.E.)". Dedicated to St. Salvatore, it has a small chamber preceded by a classical pronaos or porch.
Fondazione Umbria Film Commission
Via M. Angeloni 61 — 06124 Perugia
Phone: 075-5045878
Email: info@umbriafilmcommission.com